Skip to Main Content

Faculty Assembly

The Faculty Assembly of The University of Tennessee Space Institute was officially organized on July 22, 1992, when it adopted a set of  Bylaws. The Faculty Assembly provides a mechanism for carrying out the governance responsibilities of the Faculty Senate of The University of Tennessee, Knoxville, in the particular context of the Space Institute.

Unless announced otherwise, meetings take place in H-111 at 10 am.

Meeting Dates

  • September 23, 2015
  • November 4, 2015
  • February 24, 2016
  • April 20, 2016

Executive Committee

for 2015-2016

  • President – C. Parigger
  • Secretary – S. Brooks
  • Past President – J. Johnson
  • President-elect – J. Schmisseur
  • Faculty at Large – R. Abedi

Standing Committees

for 2014-2015
  • Research
    J. Schmisseur, F-Y. Zhang, S. Brooks, L. Davis, A. J. Yu
  • Education

UTSI Representative on UT
Knoxville Functions

  • Faculty Senate:
    J. Johnson (Library & Information Technology Committee)
    C. Parigger (Research Council - Center Review Committee; Nominations & Appointments Committee)
    J. Schmisseur (Appeals Committee)
    J. Simonton (Alternate)
  • Graduate Council:
    (Academic Policy Committee)
    Abedi (Alternate)
    C. Parigger: UTSI liaison for the IGMCS program
  • College of Engineering Promotion & Tenure Committee: