Annual Service Awards Recognition Luncheon Held

Wednesday, May 27, 2009
Writer: Kimberly Draper

Annual Service Awards Recognition Luncheon Held

The University of Tennessee Space Institute recently held its annual Service Award Recognition Luncheon to honor those employees who had reached milestones in their years of service at UTSI. The milestones that are recognized at UTSI include five, ten, fifteen, twenty, twenty-five, and thirty years of service. Dr. Angie Bukley, Interim UT Associate Vice President for UTSI, thanked each employee for their hard work and dedication and presented the awards.

Receiving their five year service award included Larry Ledford and Joseph Majdalani of Tullahoma, Richard Ranaudo of Loudon, TN, and Debra Syders of Mechanicsville, MD. Billy Davis of Winchester and Rebecca Layman of Decherd both received their 10-year service award. After 20 years of service, Brenda Brooks, James Shields, and Bruce Whitehead all of Manchester, along with Peter Solies and Carole Thomas of Tullahoma, Brenda Brown and Richard Gulley of Decherd, and Patricia Burks-Jelks and Clara Ferguson of Winchester, all received an award of recognition. Receiving an award for 25-years of service was Bruce Bomar of Shelbyville and Boris Kupershmidt of Smyrna. Awarded for 30 years of service, the longest service year recognized at the ceremony, were Joe Hane and Wes McMinn of Tullahoma.

Following the service awards, Dr. Bruce Bomar recognized 2008-2009 Faculty Assembly President John Steinhoff, SGA President Josh Batterson, 2008-2009 UTSI Outstanding GRA of the Year Deepak Rajput, Resident Assistant Nadim Zgheib, and those who assisted with the SSST 2009 Conference which included Barbara Birdsong, Bruce Bomar, Jennifer Boyles, Betty Bright, Mark Cross, Richard Gulley , Betsy Harbin, Kathy Hice, Laura Horton , Lisa Lehman, Dee Merriman, John Muratore, Monty Smith, Becky Stines, Scott Van Zandbergen, Bruce Whitehead and administrators Peter Aamodt, Angie Bukley, and Greg Sedrick.

Also recognized at the ceremony by Patricia Burks-Jelks, Director of Human Resources and Employee Relations Committee Chair, were Committee Vice Chair Peter Aamodt and ERC members Laura Horton, Rebecca Layman, Lisa Lehman, and Susan Murphy.

Service Award Recipients are pictured above and are as follows, front row: Patricia Burks-Jelks, Brenda Brooks, Rebecca Layman, Billy Davis, Clara Ferguson, Boris Kupershmidt, and Brenda Brown; middle row: Carole Thomas, James Shields, Wes McMinn, Joe Hane, and Bruce Bomar; and back row: Bruce Whitehead, Joseph Majdalani, Peter Solies, and Larry Ledford.

Pictured above is the UTSI Employee Relation Committee from left: Committee Vice Chair Peter Aamodt, ERC members Susan Murphy, Rebecca Layman, Lisa Lehman, Laura Horton, and Committee Chair Patricia Burks-Jelks.

–Photos by Laura Horton