Skip to content

Area Residents Acknowledged at UTSI Service Awards

The University of Tennessee Space Institute recently held their annual Service Award Recognition Luncheon for employees who have reached service milestones in their careers at the university. Robert Moore, UTSI Executive Director, commented before presenting the awards “… looking at the long list of recipients, it appears that employee retention is working at UTSI.”

Receiving awards for five years of service were Brian Canfield, Jackie Johnson, Courtney Maricle and Zhongren Yue of Tullahoma and Dennis Harbin and Alexander Terekhov of Estill Springs. Vicki Carr of Belvidere received the 15-year service award. Earning the 20-year of service award were Leo Bonner of Cowan and Mark Cross of Estill Springs. Jennifer Boyles of Tullahoma, Chris Parigger of Manchester, and Becky Stines of Winchester were recognized for 25-years of service to the Institute. As Moore prepared to announce the last award recipient, he jokingly commented, “this recipient starting working at UTSI prior to the enactment of child labor laws.” Awarded for reaching the milestone of 35-years of service, the longest service year recognized, was Kathy Hice of Tullahoma.

Following the service awards, Moore praised the contributions made by the members of the Employee Relations Committee (ERC). Serving on the ERC this year are Barbara Birdsong and Courtney Maricle representing Secretarial and Clerical, Laura Horton and Larry Ledford representing Buildings and Grounds Maintenance, Skilled Trades, Food Services and Technical Services. The ERC Chair, Patricia Burks-Jelks, and the ERC Secretary, Pam Ledford, were also acknowledged.

Moore concluded the event by thanking UTSI student and Graduate Research Assistant (GRA) James Rogers for his work as the 2012-2013 President of the UTSI Student Government Association and Michel Akiki, UTSI student and GRA, for his service as the Dorm Resident Assistant. Lloyd Davis, professor of physics, was credited for his contributions as the 2012-2013 Faculty Assembly President.

Service Award Recipients, front row, l-r: Alex Terekhov, Jennifer Boyles, Courtney Maricle, Leo Bonner, Vicki Carr and back row, l-r: Zhongren Yue, Brian Canfield, Mark Cross, Dennis Harbin, Kathy Hice.

Photographer: Laura Horton