Skip to content

Employees Recognized at Annual Service Awards

The University of Tennessee Space Institute (UTSI) annual service award recognition luncheon was recently held at the campus dining hall for 9 employees who have reached career service milestones at the graduate school and research center. The service awards were presented by Robert Moore, UTSI executive director. During the awards presentation, Moore commented “… I look forward to this annual event; this event provides the Institute with the opportunity to recognize those employees that have either started their careers or dedicated their careers to the university.”

Joyce Williams Moore of Winchester received the longest service year award of any UTSI employee for 45 years of service and received a standing ovation.

Thirty-five year awards went to Betty Bright, Winchester, and to Charlotte Henley, Tullahoma. Receiving 25-year awards were Barbara Birdsong, Charlene Hane, and Laura Horton, all of Tullahoma and Dean Ferrell of Lynchburg. A 15-year award went to Ying-Ling Chen, Tullahoma, a former student and now research assistant professor and a 10-year award to Trevor Moeller, Manchester, a former student and now associate professor.

James Simonton recognized Stuart Steen and Matthew DiMaiolo for service as the Dorm Resident Assistants and David Surmick as the President of the UTSI Student Government Association. Jackie Johnson was recognized for her contributions as the Faculty Assembly President.

Following the service awards, Moore praised the contributions made by the members of the Employee Relations Committee (ERC). Serving on the ERC this year are Clara Ferguson and Natallia Kaptur representing Secretarial and Clerical, and Paula Morris and Doug Warnberg representing Buildings and Grounds Maintenance, Skilled Trades, Food Services and Technical Services. Also acknowledged were the ERC Chair, Patricia Burks-Jelks, and the ERC Secretary, Courtney Maricle.

l-r: Dean Ferrell, Laura Horton, Ying-Ling Chen, Betty Bright, Charlene Hane, Barbara Birdsong, Charlotte Henley, Joyce Moore and Trevor Moeller