Skip to content

Employees Recognized for Service at UTSI Luncheon

The University of Tennessee Space Institute recently held their annual Service Award Recognition Luncheon to honor several employees for reaching milestones in their years of service at the Institute. Dr. Angie Bukley, Interim UT Associate Vice President for UTSI, thanked each honoree for their loyalty and commitment to UTSI before presenting the awards.

IT Technologist Charlie Gonzales of Hillsboro received an award for his five years of service to the Institute. Ten-year service awards went to Accounting Assistant Vicki Carr of Belvidere and Research Associate Michael Leigh of Tullahoma.

Senior Service Supervisor Leo Bonner of Cowan and Media Production Specialist Mark Cross of Estill Springs were both recognized for their 15 years of service to UTSI. Three employees were honored for working at the Institute for the last two decades. Earning their 20-year awards were Business Manager Jennifer Boyles of Tullahoma, Associate Professor Chris Parigger of Manchester and Director for Recruiting, Admissions and Continuing Education Becky Stines of Winchester.

After 30 years at UTSI, Administrative Support Assistant Kathy Hice and Research Associate Jim Hornkohl, both of Tullahoma, were honored for their long-lasting dedication to the Institute.

Following the service awards, Graduate Research Assistant Josh Batterson was honored with a UTSI Outstanding GRA of the Year Award. UTSI Student and GRA Matthew Duran was also recognized for his work as a Resident Assistant. Jesse Labello was thanked for serving as the President of UTSI’s Student Government Association, and Dr. Basil Antar was recognized for his efforts as President of the Faculty Assembly.

Also recognized at the special event were the members of UTSI’s Employee Relations Committee (ERC). Serving on the ERC this year are Betsy Harbin and Susan Murphy representing Secretarial and Clerical, Lisa Lehman and James Shields representing Buildings, Grounds Maintenance, Skilled Trades, Food Services and Technical Services, Patricia Burks-Jelks as the Chair and Peter Aamodt as Vice-Chair.

UTSI EMPLOYEES EARN SERVICE AWARDS—These area residents were recently recognized at UTSI for reaching milestones in their years of service at the Institute. Shown above from left to right are Mark Cross, Leo Bonner, Michael Leigh, Charlie Gonzales, Becky Stines, Jennifer Boyles, Kathy Hice and Vicki Carr. Not pictured are Chris Parigger and Jim Hornkohl.

ERC COMMITTEE RECOGNIZED—The members of UTSI’s Employee Relations Committee were recognized for their service to UTSI at the recent luncheon as well. Shown above, left to right, are Patricia Burks-Jelks, Lisa Lehman, James Shields, Susan Murphy, and Peter Aamodt. Not pictured is Betsy Harbin.

— UTSI Photos by Laura Horton