Faculty Research Focus Areas

The focus of the mission-related research programs of the Center is the application of lasers and associated technology to bio/nanophotonics, materials science, laser materials interaction, energy/power and spectroscopy. These focus areas of specialization were selected to correspond to known areas of scientific and engineering challenges and to areas of development and regional and national needs.

For a more indepth look into the research of our faculty, see the following faculty reports.



  • Lloyd Davis – single molecule spectroscopy of biomolecules in confined spaces
  • Ying-Ling Chen – vision research and modeling of human vision systems
  • Lino Costa – devices for cellular chemotaxis
  • Jacqueline Johnson – storage phosphor materials for mammography
  • George Murray – colorimetric detection of bioactive molecules
  • Christian Parigger – photo-acoustic imaging, diagnostics and applications
  • Feng-Yuan Zhang – MEMS/NEMS, micro/nano fluidics

Materials Science

  • George Murray – synthesis of molecularly imprinted polymers
  • Lino Costa – phase transformations, laser cladding and modeling of direct metal deposition
  • Lloyd Davis – trapping and diagnostics of quantum dots
  • Christian Parigger – laser-induced materials physics
  • Jacqueline Johnson – development of glass imaging material

Laser Materials Interaction

  • Lino Costa – laser cladding and femtosecond laser machining
  • Trevor Moeller – laser ablation dynamics and modeling of laser ablation for space propulsion
  • Lloyd Davis – femtosecond fabrication of nanofluidic and wave guide devices
  • Feng-Yuan Zhang – micro/nano manufacturing multifunctional materials


  • Charles Johnson – Mössbauer spectroscopy
  • Christian Parigger – ultrasensitive spectroscopy and combustion diagnostics
  • Lloyd Davis – single molecule spectroscopy
  • Ying-Ling Chen – combustion diagnostics
  • George Murray – Raman and electrochemical spectroscopy
  • Feng-Yuan Zhang – Tomography, Diode-laser absorption spectroscopy, thermography

Non-Equilibrium Fluid Physics

  • Trevor Moeller – plasma physics and combustion
  • Christian Parigger – laser-plasma physics, combustion and fluid phenomena and computational modeling
  • Feng-Yuan Zhang – hypersonic flow and reaction