Skip to content

UTSI Employee Receive Service Awards

Several area residents were recently honored during The University of Tennessee Space Institute’s (UTSI) Service Award Recognition Luncheon. This annual event recognizes faculty and staff as they reach milestones in their employment with the Space Institute. UTSI Executive Director Mark Whorton, who presented the awards, thanked the recipients for their accomplishments and support to the Institute. “I couldn’t be more proud of the faculty and staff we have here at UTSI,” said Whorton. “Our staff continues to make this a place we want to be a part of.”

Receiving an award for five years of service was Research Assistant Professor Russell “Lee” Leonard of Manchester. Director of Facilities Scott Van Zandbergen of Manchester received a 10-year service award. Andrew Davis, Technical Specialist of Manchester and Doug Warnberg, Research Specialist of Estill Springs each received a 15-year service award. Pilot Greg Heatherly of Estill Springs received a 20-year service award. Maintenance Specialist Pat Daniel of Tullahoma received a 40-year service award.

Also recognized at the event, were the members of UTSI’s Employee Relations Committee: Kaycee Edwards, Kathlene Franklin, Terry Garner, Susie Murphy, Pam Ledford and Patricia Burks-Jelks. UTSI Graduate Students recognized were E. Lara Lash for her work as a Resident Assistant and Adam Evans as the Assistant to the Resident Assistant. Julie King was presented with a plaque for her work as the 2016-2017 President of UTSI’s Student Government Association (SGA). John Schmisseur was presented with a plaque for his efforts as 2016-2017 President of the Faculty Assembly.