Skip to content

UTSI Employees Receive Service Awards

Several area residents were recently honored during The University of Tennessee Space Institute’s Service Award Recognition Luncheon. The event is held each year to recognize faculty and staff as they reach milestones in their employment with The Institute. UTSI Chief Operating Officer Don Daniel, who presented the awards, commented, “I couldn’t be prouder of the faculty and staff we have here at UTSI. This is a group of folks who enjoy what they do for a living and it shows in how very hard they work at it.”

Receiving awards for five years of service were Craft Specialist Andrew Davis of Winchester, IT Technologist Lisa Lehman of Shelbyville, and Research Specialist Doug Warnberg of Estill Springs.

Senior Craft Specialist Greg Heatherly of Estill Springs received a 10-year service award. Professor Gary Flandro of Tullahoma was recognized with a 15-year service award. Professors Ahmad Vakili and John Steinhoff, both of Tullahoma, earned awards for 25 years of service to UTSI.

The longest employment span recognized at the event, 30-year service awards, went to Professor Basil Antar of Winchester, Craft Specialist Patrick Daniel of Tullahoma and Professor Al Pujol of Nashville.

Also recognized at the special event were the members of UTSI’s Employee Relations Committee Palm Edinger, Greg Heatherly, Betsy Harbin, Penny Oliver and George Jensen. Graduate Research Assistant Tony Saad was honored with a UTSI Outstanding GRA of the Year Award. UTSI Student Matthew Duran was recognized for his work as a Resident Assistant. Mark Olles was thanked for his work as the President of UTSI’s Student Government Association, and Gary Flandro was recognized for his efforts as President of the Faculty Assembly.

UTSI SERVICE AWARDS—The University of Tennessee Space Institute recently held their annual service awards recognition luncheon at the UTSI cafeteria. Shown at the event, (clockwise), above: IT Technologist Lisa Lehman receives her five-year award from UTSI COO Donald Daniel. Next frame, 30-year award recipients include Professors Al Pujol, (left), and Basil Antar, (right), as well as Craft Specialist Patrick Daniel. Top right, Dean for Academic Affairs Bruce Bomar presents the UTSI Outstanding Graduate Research Assistant of the Year Award to Tony Saad (right). Just below are Estill Springs residents Doug Warnberg (left) and Greg Heatherly, who were presented with their five and 10 year awards, respectively. Bottom center shows UTSI’s Employee Relations Committee Members Palm Edinger, Greg Heatherly, Betsy Harbin and Penny Oliver with Daniel. Bottom left shows UTSI student Matthew Duran receiving a resident assistant award. Headshots shown center include Professor Gary Flandro (left), honored for 15 years at UTSI, Professors Ahmad Vakili (center) and John Steinhoff each recognized for 25 years at UTSI, and Craft Specialist Andrew Davis of Winchester who received his five-year award.

–UTSI Photos by Laura Horton