UTSI Faculty Assembly

The Faculty Assembly of The University of Tennessee Space Institute was officially organized on July 22, 1992, when it adopted a set of by-laws. The Faculty Assembly provides a mechanism for carrying out the governance responsibilities of the Faculty Senate of The University of Tennessee, Knoxville, in the particular context of the Space Institute.

Meeting Dates

Faculty Assembly meetings for this Academic Year, 2018-2019, are on Wednesdays at 10:00 AM in H-111 with the exception of Sept. 26, Lower A.

The dates are:
Sept. 26 Lower A Conference Room
Nov. 28
Jan. 30
April 3

Executive Committee

  • President – A.Yu
  • Secretary – S.Brooks
  • Past President – A. Vakili
  • President-elect — C. Parigger
  • Faculty at Large — J. Tolk

Standing Committees


  • J. Schmisseur
  • F-Y. Zhang
  • S. Brooks
  • L. Davis
  • A. J. Yu


  • TBD

UTSI Representative on UT Knoxville Functions

  • Faculty Senate
    • J. Johnson (Nominations & Appointments Committee; Library & Information Technology Committee)
    • C. Parigger (Research Council – Center Review Committee; Graduate Policy Committee)
    • Vakili (Alternate)
    • Simonton (Alternate)
  • Graduate Council
    • Anusonti-Inthra (Academic Policy Committee)
    • Abedi (Alternate)
    • C. Parigger (UTSI liaison for the IGMCS program)
  • College of Engineering Promotion & Tenure Committee
    • TBD