Skip to content

UTSI Held the Annual 2018 Service Awards

The University of Tennessee Space Institute (UTSI) held its Annual Service Awards Luncheon on May 8, 2018.  This event recognizes faculty and staff as they reach milestones in their employment at UTSI.  Executive Director, Mark Whorton presented the awards and expressed his sincere appreciation to everyone attending.  He said, “UTSI has a strong plan in place and we all play an important role in executing that plan; the different talents of our staff and faculty put the “spice” in UTSI.”

Receiving an award for five years of service were, Reza Abedi of Manchester, Jacob Bowman of Tullahoma, Kathlene Franklin of Winchester, Kanawful Massingille of Tullahoma, Paula Morris of Winchester, James Simonton of Manchester, and Larry Walls of Decherd.  Receiving an award for ten years of service were, Brian Canfield of Tullahoma, Dennis Harbin of Estill Springs, Jackie Johnson of Tullahoma, Courtney Maricle–Frazier of Tullahoma, and Alexander Terekhov of Hermitage.  Vicki Carr of Belvidere received an award for 20 years of service.  Leo Bonner of Cowan and Mark Cross of Estill Springs received awards for twenty-five years of service.  Receiving awards for thirty years of service were, Jennifer Boyles of Tullahoma, Chris Parigger of Manchester, and Becky Stines of Winchester.

UTSI’s Employee Relations Committee were recognized as well; Tamara Bonner–Thompson, Dana Hale, Kaycee Edwards, Meghan Morris, Patricia Burks-Jelks as chair, and Courtney Maricle-Frazier as the recorder.  There were five employees that were recognized for retiring this year; Barbara Birdsong, Joyce Moore, Dee Merriman, Jennifer Boyles, and Brenda Brown.  Jackie Johnson was recognized for serving as the 2017-18 Faculty Assembly President, Julie King as the 2017-18 SGA President, E. Lara Lash as the 2017-18 Resident Assistant, and Adam Evans as the 2017-18 Assistant RA.  This year UTSI also presented peer recognitions for the first time.  These include but are not limited to: Rocket Award, Ms. Clean Award, Gracious Award, Patience Award, Team Award, Mom Award, Best Administrative Professional Staff Award, 1st Annual Golden Boot Award, Certified Professional Nag Award, Fire Extinguisher Award and recognition for the team effort in the TALon building which houses the MACH 4 Tunnel and the Cryogenic Fuels Rocket Engine Test Facility.  These recognitions were submitted by peers and presented in a power point presentation.  The peer recognition will continue to be an annual part of the UTSI Service Awards.

Annual Service Awards group photo
L to R: Brian Canfield, Alexander Terekhov, Jacob Bowman, Becky Stines, Larry Walls, Kathlene Franklin, Leo Bonner, Courtney Maicle-Frazier, Paula Morris, Jennifer Boyles, Kanawful Massingille, Vicki Carr, Mark Cross, and Dennis Harbin